2017 Alabama APA Award Recipients

The Alabama APA Awards Program recognizes the “best in planning” across the state. Nominations were bestowed at the 2017 AL/MS Annual Conference in the fall at the DoubleTree Hotel in  Birmingham, Alabama. Alabama APA is proud to congratulate our 2017 recipients listed below.

  • Kenneth J. Groves, Jr. Distinguished Leadership Award for a Professional Planner: Dianne K. Irby, Executive Director, Engineering and Development, City of Mobile, Alabama
  • Distinguished Leadership Award for a Planning Student Team: Spring 2017, Sustainable Transportation Planning Class, Auburn University Community Planning Program, “Prattville Parking and Pedestrian Management Plan”
  • Chapter Leadership Award: Tom Magee, Chief Planner, City of Birmingham.
  • Outstanding Planning Award for a Comprehensive Plan for Communities with a Population over 50,000:  City of Mobile, “MAP FOR MOBILE: FRAMEWORK FOR GROWTH”
  • Outstanding Planning Award for a Plan or Planning Program: City of Madison, “City of Madison, Westside Master Plan”
  • Franklin M. Setzer Outstanding Urban Design Project Award:  Main Street Alabama, Inc., “Main Street Alabama Downtown Design Guide”
  • Outstanding Media Coverage:  Regional Planning Commission of Greater Birmingham, “B-Active Transportation Plan”
  • First Place: DeAndra Navratil and Amanda White, Auburn University, “Rural Greenway:  Connecting Bike Paths, Street Plans and Open Spaces, City of Auburn, Alabama”
  • Second Place: Jeran Herbert, Alabama A & M University, “Urbanization and the Metropolis:  A Preliminary Spatial Assessment of the Growth in Urban Land in New York-NJ-Long Island Metro Region”