2015 Alabama APA Award Recipients

The Alabama APA Awards Program recognizes the “best in planning” across the state. Nominations were received in July with honors bestowed at the 2015 AL/MS Annual Conference in the fall at Perdido Beach Resort, Orange Beach, Alabama. Alabama APA is proud to congratulate our 2015 recipients displayed below.

Distinguished Leadership Awards
  • Distinguished Leadership Award for a Planning Student: Gray Parker, College of Architecture, Design and Construction, Auburn University – “HOMETOWN WALK, Lafayette, Alabama”
  • Chapter Leadership Award: Katherine Ennis, AICP – Alabama APA Chapter
  • Distinguished Leadership Award for an Appointed Public Official: Samuel Gaston, City Manager, City of Mountain Brook, Alabama.
  • Kenneth J. Groves, Jr. Distinguished Leadership Award for a Professional Planner: Charlene LeBleu, AICP, FASLA, Associate Professor, School of Architecture, Planning, and Landscape Architecture, Auburn University.
Outstanding Planning Awards
  • Outstanding Planning Award for a Plan or Planning Program: City of Anniston, Alabama – “One City, One Vision Strategic Plan”
Outstanding Media Coverage Award
  • Brian Woodham, The Auburn Villager – Seven Part Series on Planning, Zoning and Development in Auburn, Alabama
Student Competition Awards
  • First Place: Dwight Tigner, Alabama A & M University
  • Second Place: Phoenix Robinson, Auburn University
  • Second Place: Sagar Hiware, Auburn University